Our Recycled Shed takes Shape

I am a scavenger! I have been one since I was broke at college, when I put my salvation in the hands of the Hare Krishnas for a couple of hours in return for one of their delicious meals, while my ancestors buried in the ghettos of eastern Europe reeled in their graves.

These days I never walk by a skip without investigating it for potential treasures. My house is almost entirely furnished with cast-offs.

My ancestors must have forgiven me by now because in the last couple of weeks we have been blessed with extraordinary bounty  delivered by wonderful coincidences…

Krzysztof's sketch of the shed

Krzysztof’s sketch of the shed

A few weeks ago Krzysztof, carpenter, scavenger-of-note and genius upcycler, had to vacate the workshop facility where he stored tools and the odds and ends of materials that he had been collecting for his various projects. I suggested he use the end of my garden to make a shed for himself. The deal was that I would provide the site, he would build the shed, and it would be used both for his storage needs and for any materials needed for the 5k extension.

We decided to make the shed a project in itself: it was to be constructed as far as possible out of reclaimed materials or stuff diverted from landfill.

So in telling the story of our shed so far, I am like a six-year-old child, excitedly prefacing each turn of events with “And then…”

And then … we got a delivery of pallet wood which would otherwise have been discarded, from a pal of Krzysztof’s at the factory where he used to work.

pallets delivered Rusty Nails Pile of Nails CompostS

And then … my neighbour Liam, an urban farmer who uses my garden for his overflow (he needs more space, I don’t have the urge to garden), emptied the compost bin to fill his vegetable beds.

wheelbarrow spud

The concrete blocks from the now-empty compost bin were used to build foundations for the shed, and the space was mapped with pallet wood.

Space for Shed text

And then… Francis drops by to chat about his wife’s 50th birthday and leaves behind some heavy-duty plastic sheeting, that he is no longer using. Essential for protecting the structure from the relentless Irish weather!

002 001

And then it all starts pouring in… and not just the rain.  Bloom Fringe showed an interest in our project and introduced me to Dara from ReCreate who run a recycling initiative that takes end of line and surplus stock from businesses to reuse as art materials. Dara mentioned that a gallery that they collaborate with was in the process of dismantling an art installation and did we want any MDF and wooden supports to which I said YES!

Dara ReCreate232 6mm MDF boards 246

And then … my neighbour Dave who happens to work at the aforementioned art gallery heard that I was taking the MDF and offered me the Rockwool insulation that was used to soundproof the installation as well. I said YES! The hero Dara from Recreate collected it for us even though they wouldn’t normally stock that type of insulation. And this, along with the pallet wood, gave us the bones of a shed.

012 023 031 036

And then.. it rained and rained but between the showers we had lots of visitors and helpers and cake!

visitors and cake 030 252243  Planting 2 pride cake

I really like the look of the shed at the moment – it makes me nostalgic for my South African childhood.

037 038

And this is how we stand…waiting for the ancestors to do their heroic work of intercepting good stuff on its way to landfill and sending materials our way to finish the walls, and floor. We are thinking about using the election posters to make the roof tiles (best use for them!). Any suggestions welcome.

Lots more to come: My pal Karin is putting a bee lure in the garden to try to coax in some local bees. Krzysztof is making it from found materials.. Work continues on the shed…

Bloom Fringe comes to the 5kextension

On the 31st May we are opening up the garden between 3pm and 5pm see www.bloomfringe.com  for details

  • The Project Architects will discuss their response to the project brief
  • Krzysztof will show how he will reuse discarded materials to build a structure
  • Information on bee keeping
  • Beautiful sculptural flowers and insects produced by Karin Stierle from scraps courtesy of ReCreate

Read Liam Patersons’ post about his garden efforts in the  Neighbourly Garden. Liam is an avid gardener who helps out and shares a space in my garden- You can peek at his own edible front garden Bloom Fringe day too

 

Please have a look at http://www.crni.ie/The Community Reuse Network  is the all Island representative body for community based reuse, recycling and waste prevention organisations. 

A multimedia message sent from Krzysztof to me, We will forgive him the spelling, it's not many of you who can pronounce the Polish for "extension", let alone spell  "przedtuzenie domu"

A multimedia message sent from Krzysztof to me, We will forgive him the spelling, it’s not many of you who can pronounce the Polish for “extension”, let alone spell “przedtuzenie domu”

 

5 thoughts on “Our Recycled Shed takes Shape

  1. Amanda

    Initially I admired this project for its generous aesthetic, at once humble and inspiring, but as it has developed, and especially now that there is a structure, I see that your 5k project is in fact a deeply subversive, even anarchic act, and I applaud it as such.
    The 5k extension, which showcases cooperation, neighbourliness, frugality and respect for resources, contributes much that is of value, unacknowledged in a world where citizens are only appreciated for their worth to the exchequer as tax units; economic growth is still predicated on over-consumption and inbuilt obsolescence; where it is regarded as a luxury to be able to bring up your own children or care for your own dependents; where we are no longer home-owners but renting from the government. Kudos Natasha! May the 5k aesthetic spread like wildfire through local communities, and act as a wake-up call.

    Reply
  2. intrepidmenos

    Not sure I can add my comment after reading Amanda’s brilliant prose. I love the energy I felt while reading this blog. What a wonderful space that shed will be considering it is built from generosity and immense good spirit. Can’t wait to see it.

    Reply
  3. ei

    Wow Natasha, I love your blog update………. Your original idea and all the work in progress has blossomed into a visible growing venture, This weekend’s scattering of seeds, nurture of the young saplings and co ordination of the team’s ‘work in progress’ is a lovely contribution to Bloomfringe. I wish you continued success in your garden project.It is a wonderful opportunity to invite interest,ideas and share real information about possibilities and development. As always you creatively nurture ideas locally and internationally. Your updates and team contributions give us hope and belief that growth is possible in the rain and wind experiences with enthusiastic care, skills, encouragement, negotiation and communication.
    Hope this trial goes well and look forward to your next step.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

